Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Retail

PS3 outsells Wii in Japan

Mon 06 Apr 2009 3:50pm GMT / 11:50am EDT / 8:50am PDT
Retail

Sony's console takes top spot in Japan for the first time in 16 months

Sony Computer Entertainment

Sony Computer Entertainment is a Japanese videogame company specialising in a variety of areas in the...

playstation.com

Sony's PlayStation 3 outsold Nintendo's Wii during March in Japan for the first time in 16 months, according to Japanese magazine publisher, Enterbrain.

The console's spike in sales has been credited to titles from Sega and Capcom, with the PS3 hitting 146,948 units, compared with 99,335 units of the Wii and 43,172 units of Microsoft's Xbox 360, reports Reuters.

Ryu Ga Gotoku 3 and Resident Evil 5 for the PlayStation 3 took the top two spots of the region's software sales chart driving demand in the console.

Last week, Sony's John Koller described how the company expected PS3 and PlayStation Portable sales to climb 10-15 per cent worldwide, following a "bullish" approach to sales.

Shares in Sony Corp are trading at JPY 2420 (USD 24), down 1.04 per cent from the previous close.

2 Comments

As much as i dislike the PS3 its good to see that a few good titles give it a good pick me up, but will this last?

Posted:5 years ago

#1

Jim Webb
Executive Editor/Community Director

2,266 2,404 1.1
Sales have already tapered off week to week since this big software surge hit in Feb. For this week, depending on which source you follow, the sales between Wii and PS3 are nearly equal. With no big releases next week, this drop in sales should continue.

Posted:5 years ago

#2

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now