Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Retail

Phantom launches as digital distribution

Tue 16 Dec 2008 9:46am GMT / 4:46am EST / 1:46am PST
Retail

Long struggling PC gaming platform abandons console based approach for online store

Phantom Entertainment, in partnership with GameStreamer, has launched its online game store, featuring a catalogue of over 2,600 PC titles.

The store allows for the outright purchasing of games, such as FarCry 2 or Fallout 3, or try before you buy, and uses a content licensing management system to track all games purchased, so the user owns the license forever and can freely return to re-download the game.

The Phantom was originally announced in 2003 as a disc-less PC to operate as a console by relying entirely on a broadband connection to download and play games, however, years later the PC-console failed to materialise.

The company has also announced the impending launch of its Phantom Lapboard, a keyboard and mouse peripheral designed to facilitate PC gaming while sitting on a couch, saying that the company now has a contact to mass manufacture the product.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now