Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Parliamentary Group for games industry created

Fri 12 Jun 2009 9:22am GMT / 5:22am EDT / 2:22am PDT
PoliticsTIGA News

Tiga CEO "delighted" to see establishment of new forum for political issues

TIGA

TIGA is the trade association representing the UKís games industry. The majority of our members are...

tiga.org

An all-party Parliamentary group for the computer and videogames industry has been set-up, chaired by Bill Olner MP, with Lord Puttnam and John Whittingdale MP as vice-chairs.

According to Tiga CEO, Richard Wilson - who offered the organisation's support - the group will "ensure that issues affecting the sector, including the tax system, skill needs and industry-academia links are raised still more effectively in Parliament and Government."

"The participation of distinguished parliamentarians, including Lord Puttnam of Queensgate, CBE, Baroness Bonham-Carter of Yarnbury, John Whittingdale OBE MP, will lend real weight to the Group's work," he added.

Meanwhile, Bill Olner said: "All-Party Groups can be a highly effective vehicle to raise and discuss issues amongst interested Parliamentarians. I congratulate Tiga for showing leadership in instigating the creation of Westminster's first All Party Parliamentary Group for the computer and videogames industry, and for providing its secretariat."

Olner, Whittingdale and Wilson will all be speaking at a Tiga-NESTA joint event on Monday June 15 at the House of Commons, entitled "Play Together".

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now