Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Oberon delighted with GameSaver growth

Wed 22 Jul 2009 8:18am GMT / 4:18am EDT / 1:18am PDT
OnlineCasual

Subscriber numbers approach 500,000 for online game service in its first year

Oberon Media has announced that its GameSaver online subscription programme, which gives users access to thousands of its casual games at a reduced cost, has almost hit half a million members in its first year.

"Over the past year we have been very successful in helping our portal partners transition their casual download businesses from a one-time purchase driven model into a subscription driven model," said the company's chief strategy officer, Ofer Leidner. "The next phase is to work with our game developer partners and help them optimize their product strategies and life cycle management so they can benefit even more from this model.

"Oberon is excited to help drive the industry toward a direction that is a win-win for everyone," he added.

GameSaver is the subscription portion of Oberon's Game Center white label platform, which provides tools to developers to aid the life cycle management of games, with discounting able to generate a longer term customer relationship, says the company.

Oberon, founded in 2003, owns the I-play publishing label, and plans to roll out new Game Center platforms with GameSaver included as standard.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now