Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Microsoft fires whistleblowing employee

Mon 15 Sep 2008 9:21am GMT / 5:21am EDT / 2:21am PDT
Publishing

Games tester sacked for speaking publicly about 360 failure rates

Microsoft has sacked games tester Robert Delaware for speaking publicly about Xbox 360 hardware failures.

Delaware's comments were published in an article by Dean Takahashi on Venturebeat last week. Now, reports Takahashi, the whistleblower has been fired for breaching his confidentiality agreement.

Delaware has been told he's likely to end up in court over the whole thing, but he has no regrets.

"I don't regret it," he told Takahashi. "I'll fight it. If they want to come after me, bring it on."

The now-ex-Microsoft employee reported he learned about problems with the Xbox 360 hardware while working for VMC, which tests games for Microsoft. According to Takahashi, he saw how "Xbox Live updates embedded in retail games could turn working consoles into worthless hulks". Delaware later went on to test games for Bungie.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now