Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Retail

MGS4 drives PS3 sales, but DS and Wii still in lead

Thu 17 Jul 2008 11:01pm GMT / 7:01pm EDT / 4:01pm PDT
Retail

NPD analyst says industry is poised to achieve record-breaking revenues even if growth slows during remainder of year

Sales of videogame hardware, software and accessories totaled USD 1.69 billion in June - a 53 per cent increase from the prior year.

For the first six months of 2008, US videogame sales have totaled USD 6.1 billion.

"Even if growth slows over the back half of 2008, the industry is poised to achieve record-breaking revenues of over USD 22 billion for the year," said NPD analyst Anita Frazier.

"Looking at historical data, hardware price reductions have been a good incentive for a broader consumer base to invest in a new-gen system, which encourages continued industry growth across all categories."

Nintendo continues to lead the hardware sales, with the DS and Wii outpacing the competition. Both PSP and PS3 hardware sales outdid Xbox 360 and PS2 sales for the month.

"As expected, Metal Gear Solid 4 realized significant retail sales and drove PS3 hardware acquisition," Frazier said.

Total US hardware sales for the month of June were as follows:

  • Nintendo DS 783,000
  • Nintendo Wii 666,700
  • PlayStation 3 405,500
  • PSP 337,400
  • Xbox 360 219,800
  • PlayStation 2 188,800

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now