Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Internet Advertising Bureau launches game ads council

Fri 26 Jun 2009 3:29pm GMT / 11:29am EDT / 8:29am PDT
Advertising

Trade body aims to promote understanding of videogame advertising

The Internet Advertising Bureau – the trade body for UK digital marketing – has launched the Games Advertising Council to educate the marketing community about advertising in and around videogames.

The IAB has said that it intends to enlist publishers, technology providers and others to form the council.

"Gaming is one of the largest, most immersive and engaging entertainment platforms in the world, yet remains totally misunderstood by a large part of the market," said Jack Wallington, senior programmes manager for the IAB.

"The US gaming industry is thriving, and we’re seeing some strong parallels over here in the UK. With the US gaining universal agreement on their in-game measurement standard, this is just the ticket for advertisers to make even more of game advertising and something we hope to replicate in the UK through our Game Advertising Council."

One of the council's first tasks will be to evaluate whether the IAB's in-game measurement standards in the US are suitable for the UK market.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now