Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

INiS quiet on Lips DLC pricing

Wed 16 Jul 2008 9:03am GMT / 5:03am EDT / 2:03am PDT

Promises competitive pricing for Microsoft's karaoke game, with videos and more available as downloadable content

Keiichi Yano, co-founder of Lips developer iNiS, was unable to clarify pricing for the ambitious Microsoft karaoke game or its downloadable song content, when our sister site Eurogamer.net spoke to him on Tuesday at E3.

Although Yano said that DLC prices "will be competitive" - presumably a reference to SingStar's 99p price for song downloads on PS3 - the engaging developer couldn't say any more. As well as downloadable songs, there will also be videos and "other stuff".

He did confirm that the game would ship with two of Microsoft's motion-sensitive microphones - black and white - which light up as used, but couldn't confirm how much the bundle would cost.

However, he did say that iNiS has three confirmed songs at this point - Peter, Bjorn & John's "Young Folks", Duffy's "Mercy" and Young MC's "Bust-A-Move" - and hopes to have around 40 on the disc at launch "this holiday season". Each of the bundled songs will be from a master recording and include the music video, Yano said.

One of Lips' unique selling points is its ability to let players sing along to music on the Xbox 360 hard disk, iPod or Zune.

Yano said that the game would be able to rate user performance as if playing along to one of the built-in tracks, that there would be vocal reduction on whatever track the user picks and that iNiS has a "very compelling solution" lined up for getting the screen to display the correct lyrics.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now