Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Home downloaded by 3.4 million PS3 users

Fri 09 Jan 2009 7:57am GMT / 2:57am EST / 11:57pm PST
Publishing

While LittleBigPlanet sells 1.3 million units, with 300,000 user-created levels available

Sony Computer Entertainment

Sony Computer Entertainment is a Japanese videogame company specialising in a variety of areas in the...

playstation.com

PlayStation Home, the community application released at the end of last year, has so far been downloaded by more than 3.4 million PS3 users, according to Sony, with USD 1 million worth of goods downloaded via the service.

The company also revealed that Media Molecule's PlayStation 3 exclusive, LittleBigPlanet, has sold over 1.3 million units worldwide, reports GameSpot.

During the Sony keynote address at CES, the company said that users have created over 300,000 levels for the game.

A total of 330 million pieces of content have been downloaded to date via the PlayStation Network, said Sony Computer Entertainment CEO Kaz Hirai, with 17 million PSN account created.

The company noted that the install base of the PlayStation 3 and PSP has now reached 61.3 million units.

Later this year, the Life with PlayStation channel will be updated, although Hirai did not go into specifics. Sony also revealed a new partnership with MTV to offer video content via the PlayStation Network.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now