Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Games presence up 50 per cent at NY Comic Con

Tue 27 Jan 2009 3:16pm GMT / 10:16am EST / 7:16am PST
Events

Videogames becoming increasingly important for pop culture show

The organisers of New York Comic Con have revealed that space for videogame product has grown 50 per cent compared to last year.

Some of the titles on show this year include Prototype from Activision, Atari's Champions Online, The Godfather 2 from EA and Namco's Afro Samurai.

"I am enormously pleased and gratified to see how much and how fast our videogame component has grown since last year," commented show manager Lance Fensterman.

"From the get go, one of our principal goals at New York Comic Con has been to build on our core interest, which is comics, by expanding outwards to include other interests.

"This is what defines us as a true pop culture event. We provide a wide range of stimulating activity which commands the attention of our many fans. I couldn’t be happier that videogaming is now taking a leading role in all of this."

The New York Comic Con takes place February 6 – 8 at the Jacob Javits Center. Other games company's at the event include Rockstar, Sega, THQ, Mythic and Cryptic Studios.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now