Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Retail

Free Realms registrations pass 10 million mark

Tue 06 Apr 2010 8:41am GMT / 4:41am EDT / 1:41am PDT
RetailGamesOnline

Family-friendly, free-to-play massively multiplayer online game goes "diamond"

The total number of registered users for family-friendly, free-to-play massively multiplayer online game Free Realms has passed 10 million, according to publisher Sony Online Entertainment.

The milestone was reached as the game nears its first anniversary on April 28 and follows an announcement of 9 million users as recently as last month.

"Reaching 10 million registered players on the eve of Free Realms' first birthday is an incredibly exciting event for SOE and our passionate online community," said John Smedley, president of Sony Online Entertainment.

"Millions of gamers have confirmed that the genre we pioneered over 11 years ago with the original EverQuest continues to evolve and expand to include new styles of gameplay that reach a wider audience than ever before."

From mid-April the game will feature party decorations in online areas, with various live community events, commemorative items and two new combat mini-games planned to celebrate the game's first birthday.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now