Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Fallout 3 outsells all previous titles in the series combined

Tue 04 Nov 2008 8:43am GMT / 3:43am EST / 12:43am PST

Latest Bethesda title also beats Oblivion debut week by 57 per cent

Bethesda's Fallout 3 has hit the top of the PlayStation 3, Xbox 360 and PC charts in the UK.

The game has outsold combined sales in the region of the original Fallout and its sequel, and spin-off titles Fallout Tactics and Fallout: Brotherhood of Steel.

First week sales were also 57 per cent stronger than the first week performance of Bethesda's The Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion.

According to data from GfK Chart-Track, 55 per cent of all sales were on the Microsoft format, 28 per cent on Sony's home console and 17 per cent for the PC.

The game knocked last week's number one Fable II off the top of the All Formats charts, and held off climbers FIFA 09 and Wii Fit, despite the latter enjoying its third biggest sales week since release.

Other new titles in the top forty this week include Activision's Bond tie-in Quantum of Solace at seven, EA's Command and Conquer: Red Alert 3 at 15, MySims Kingdom at 25, More Touchmaster at 28 and High School Musical 3: Senior Year at 29.

The top ten All Formats sellers follow:

  • 1. Fallout 3
  • 2. FIFA 09
  • 3. Wii Fit
  • 4. Fable II
  • 5. Pro Evolution Soccer 2009
  • 6. Far Cry 2
  • 7. Quantum of Solace
  • 8. LEGO Batman
  • 9. Mario Kart Wii
  • 10. Saints Row 2

1 Comment

I was extremely excited about this game, and it continues to stand up to my expectations. Great post. I wonder will it keep the pace with Resistance 2.

Posted:5 years ago

#1

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now