Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Ex-Ensemble vets form Newtoy studio

Mon 11 May 2009 8:09am GMT / 4:09am EDT / 1:09am PDT
Development

Teaming with comic book creator for new iPhone and iPod Touch title

Two former Ensemble Studios veterans have formed Newtoy, a development team already working on an iPhone and iPod Touch title.

Newtoy has been established by brothers Paul and David Bettner, who have both worked on Halo Wars and the Age of Empires series.

"We share a dream for a new kind of game development," offered Paul Bettner, creative director at Newtoy. "World class game makers from around the globe - artists and illustrators, designers, musicians, coders - joining forces to craft the highest quality entertainment experiences on the most cutting edge game platforms.

"We are moving away from the monolithic studio model of development," he added.

Newtoy's first title, World War Robot, will be developed in conjunction with comic book creator Ashley Wood, responsible for the Metal Gear Solid: Digital Graphic Novel, and partnerships with Dreamworks, Warner, Sony and others.

"I'm excited to team up with game creators who I have admired and, more importantly, whose games I have enjoyed playing over the years," said Wood.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now