Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

ESA government lobbyist out after two months

Fri 24 Apr 2009 5:49pm GMT / 1:49pm EDT / 10:49am PDT
Politics

UPDATE: Organisation reveals that search for replacement is "already underway"

A representative from the Entertainment Software Association has confirmed to GamesIndustry.biz that Jennifer A Manner, its senior vice president for government affairs, is no longer with the group.

Manner's departure comes just two months after her February 18 appointment to the position. Though the ESA representative we spoke to was unwilling to clarify the nature of Manner's departure, media reports point to Manner's lack of Capitol Hill and administration experience as probable causes.

Prior to the ESA, Manner was vice president of regulatory affairs at satellite communications company Skyterra Communications. She has also served as senior counsel to Commissioner Kathleen Abernathy at the Federal Communications Commission, international strategy director at Worldcom, and as an associate at law firm Akin, Gump, Strauss, Hauer & Feld.

At the time of her appointment in February, ESA CEO Michael Gallagher praised Manner's experience, saying that "Jennifer's wealth of policy experience, particularly in the broadband space, will serve the ESA and our members well as we work to create a prosperous environment for the entire computer and videogame industry."

UPDATE: The ESA has confirmed to GamesIndustry.biz that it is indeed seeking a replacement for Manner, and that a "search is actually already underway."

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now