Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Dreamworks extends THQ videogame deal

Wed 02 Dec 2009 11:06am GMT / 6:06am EST / 3:06am PST
Business

New Kung-Fu Panda, Madagascar and Puss In Boots games on the way

Dreamworks and THQ have extended their partnership to create games based on upcoming animation properties, with another three titles set for release over the next two years.

As well as the previously announced Master Mind (now renamed MegaMind) release, the publisher will also release titles based on Kung-Fu Panda: The Kaboom of Doom, Puss in Boots and TV show The Penguins of Madagascar.

"The three properties announced today, in addition to MegaMind, underscore our commitment to reinvigorating our portfolio of licensed games for kids and families with top global entertainment brands," said Doug Clemmer, THQ Executive VP of Kids, Family and Casual Games.

MegaMind and The Penguins of Madagascar will be released in 2010, with Puss in Boots and Kung-Fu Panda: The Kaboom of Doom due in 2011.

"We are pleased to expand our relationship with THQ and continue to be impressed by their focus on the kids and family videogame business," said Kerry Phelan, head of Worldwide Consumer Products for DreamWorks Animation.

"We look forward to extending the reach of our feature films and The Penguins of Madagascar TV series into a broad line of games and believe THQ will do a great job of maximizing our properties for family audiences."

The previous Kung-Fu Panda game was published by Activision, and the Call of Duty publisher still has the rights to release games based on upcoming Dreamworks titles How to Train Your Dragon and Shrek Goes Fourth (now renamed Shrek Forever After).

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now