Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Darling's budget a "missed opportunity" says Tiga CEO

Thu 13 Mar 2008 3:39pm GMT / 11:39am EDT / 8:39am PDT
PoliticsTIGA News

Tiga CEO Richard Wilson has said that Alistair Darling's first budget was a missed opportunity that failed to help UK games developers

TIGA

TIGA is the trade association representing the UK’s games industry. The majority of our members are...

tiga.org

Tiga CEO Richard Wilson has said that Alistair Darling's first budget was a missed opportunity that failed to help UK games developers.

"The 2008 budget contained nothing to help UK games developers enhance their competitiveness in the face of intense global competition," he said.

"It was particularly disappointing that no provision was made to help offset the impact of massive government subsidies to games developers in competing territories like Canada."

Wilson's comments echo those of ELSPA director general Paul Jackson.

"Games developers will also be concerned by the budgetās slew of worrying economic statistics, including an increase in the overall tax burden," Wilson said.

Despite his organisation's disappointment with the budget, Tiga's CEO said that they will continue to encourage the government to introduce a range of measures that will strengthen UK based games developers.

"UK games developers are hugely successful in international markets and in the darkening economic climate, game development remains an important source of export income for the UK.

"The government must support successful business sectors such as the games development sector if the economy is to continue to grow through these difficult economic times," he said.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now