Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Bigpoint opens San Francisco studio

Wed 10 Feb 2010 8:41am GMT / 3:41am EST / 12:41am PST
BusinessDevelopment

Online portal business expands with fifth international office

Online developer Bigpoint is to open a new office in San Francisco, to be personally overseen by company CEO and founder Heiko Hubertz.

As well as games development the new US studio will establish departments for business development, marketing and PR. Hurbetz will live primarily in the US during the set-up of the new office, returning to Hamburg once a month.

The German firm already has four offices, in Hamburg, Berlin, Malta and New York, and has seen rapid growth in recent months.

Its game portal is claimed to be one of the top three in the world, with a range of over fifty titles, available in 25 different languages. The company describes the total number of users "in the two-digit millions".

"The US is one of the most strategically important markets for us," said Hubertz. "Now that we have spent the past several months building up a strong and experienced management team for our Hamburg headquarters, I am going to personally oversee the successful development of the US market in the coming months."

Bigpoint already has considerable financial banking in the US, with investment from NBC Universal and deals with media partners SiFi, Wild Tangent and Hi5.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now