Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Avary writing Wolfenstein movie "right now"

Mon 04 Aug 2008 8:20am GMT / 4:20am EDT / 1:20am PDT
Development

Hollenshead: Writer's strike held it up

The Wolfenstein movie is still in development and Roger Avary is "working on the script right now" according to id Software CEO Todd Hollenshead.

"With the writer's strike it took so long to get underway and Roger Avary, the writer, had a commitment that was in line before working the Wolfenstein stuff, but I've recently been in contact with Roger and he's actually working on the script right now," Hollenshead told Eurogamer.

"I think that from a progress standpoint it's probably gone a little bit slower than what we would have expected - you can't control these strikes and so on."

Hollenshead said he hasn't actually seen any of Avary's work yet, speculating that the Oscar-winning script-writer probably doesn't want to show anyone anything until he's taken a run through it himself.

"There's some contract provisions and if they don't have certain things done within a certain period of time they can't just sit on the rights forever and not use them," said Hollenshead.

"But apart from that me kind of nagging on him 'hey is it done yet, hey is it done yet?' will probably just be annoying and then Rog won't answer my emails any more. I would probably get the one-sentence email that says, 'Do you realise I have an Academy Award?'"

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now