Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Activision confirms Shaba Studios closure

Fri 09 Oct 2009 8:24am GMT / 4:24am EDT / 1:24am PDT
PublishingDevelopment

"Difficult but necessary decision" made to match strategic goals, says publisher

Activision Publishing

Activision, Inc. is a leading international publisher of interactive entertainment software products....

activision.com

Publisher Activision has confirmed that is has closed internal studio Shaba.

The team was in its twelfth year, and had worked on Tony Hawk and Shrek titles, as well as the recently released Spider-Man: Web of Shadows.

"Activision continually evaluates the resources at our studio properties to ensure that they are properly matched to our product slate and overall strategic goals," said a statement from Activision.

"As part of this process, we recently made the difficult but necessary decision to close Shaba Studios. We are grateful for the studio's contributions and wish this talented team success in their future endeavours."

All 61 members of staff are affected. Earlier this week, Activision also reduced the headcount at the newly acquired 7 Studios, the team originally responsible for Scratch: The Ultimate DJ.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now