Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Activision acquires Wii, DS studio Budcat Creations

Mon 10 Nov 2008 1:37pm GMT / 8:37am EST / 5:37am PST
Development

Guitar Hero team becomes latest studio to join publishing giant

Activision Publishing

Activision, Inc. is a leading international publisher of interactive entertainment software products....

activision.com

Activision has acquired Wii and DS developer Budcat Creations.

The studio has previously worked with Activision on Guitar Hero titles Legends of Rock, World Tour and Guitar Hero: Aerosmith.

"Budcat Creations is an outstanding developer with an experienced management team and a very talented group of programmers, designers and artists," offered Mike Griffith, president and CEO of Activision.

"In addition to strengthening our development capabilities on the Nintendo platforms, this acquisition increases our Guitar Hero development resources as we continue to grow the franchise and expand our global leadership position in the music-based genre."

Budcat now becomes a wholly-owned subsidiary of Activision, and the studio's management team have signed multi-year employment contracts with the publisher.

"We are thrilled to partner with Activision and believe that this acquisition is a perfect fit for both companies," said Jeremy Andersen, general manager of Budcat Creations.

"Their world class sales and marketing support coupled with best-in-class execution across all areas of their business means that we can focus our time and resources on what we love and do best - creating great games."

Back in September, Activision acquired another of its Guitar Hero partners, the UK studio FreeStyleGames.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now