Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

NativeX acquired by China's leading mobile ad firm

By Matthew Handrahan

NativeX acquired by China's leading mobile ad firm

Tue 01 Mar 2016 9:02am GMT / 4:02am EST / 1:02am PST
BusinessMarketing

$25 million deal will see NativeX become a subsidiary of Mobvista

NativeX has been acquired by Mobvista, the largest mobile advertising company in Asia, in a deal worth $25 million.

The Minnesota based company is a specialist in monetisation and advertising for mobile apps, with a great many of its partners working in the games industry. That client list includes Square Enix, Yodo1, Madfinger Games, Disney, King, Zynga, Rovio and Machine Zone. In total, NativeX has its technology in games and apps that reach more than 1 billion mobile devices.

Mobvista is larger still, operating a global ad network that receives more than 10 billion impressions each day across integrated ads and websites. In a statement released yesterday, the Chinese company said that its market value was 6 billion ($915 million) as of November 2015.

The acquisition of NativeX, then, at a price of 160 million ($25 million) in cash, is eminently affordable. CEO Wei Duan described the deal in the context of Mobvista's international growth strategy, "especially to speed up our ability to supply substantial audiences in Western markets."

Upon completion of the deal, NativeX will be a subsidiary of Mobvista, and its CEO, Rob Weber, will continue in the role he started in March 2015. Weber noted that NativeX will be expanding its team, "to take advantage of the large opportunity in front of us."

From GamesIndustry.biz Recommendations by Taboola

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now