Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Far Cry Primal is the UK's number one game

By Matthew Handrahan

Far Cry Primal is the UK's number one game

Mon 29 Feb 2016 10:54am GMT / 5:54am EST / 2:54am PST
Insights

Ubisoft's latest beats Plants vs. Zombies: Garden Warfare 2 to the top spot

Far Cry Primal entered the UK software chart at number one last week, beating out EA PopCap's Plants vs. Zombies: Garden Warfare 2.

Ubisoft launched Far Cry Primal as a full-priced retail release, but it has proved more divisive than any of the long-running series numbered entries. The game's Metacritic averages on Xbox One (79) and PlayStation 4 (76) are the lowest recorded on the site, but it did not deter the British public from buying it in greater volumes than Garden Warfare 2.

And that's despite PopCap's sequel being released on both console platforms. The first Garden Warfare was Xbox One only, but the exclusivity deal does not apply to the second game.

The other big mover last week was Street Fighter V, though not in the direction Capcom would have liked. The venerable fighting series plummeted from second place to tenth.

The software top ten is below, courtesy of Gfk Chart-Track.

Last Week This Week Title
New Entry 1 Far Cry Primal
New Entry 2 Plants vs. Zombies: Garden Warfare 2
3 3 FIFA 16
1 4 Call of Duty: Black Ops III
4 5 Grand Theft Auto V
4 6 Lego Marvel Avengers
6 7 Star Wars Battlefront
7 8 Fallout 4
8 9 Rainbow 6: Siege
2 10 Street Fighter V

From GamesIndustry.biz Recommendations by Taboola

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now