Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Layoffs at GamesRadar+

By Brendan Sinclair

Layoffs at GamesRadar+

Fri 26 Feb 2016 9:31pm GMT / 4:31pm EST / 1:31pm PST
MediaJobs

At least three writers gone from Future gaming site a month after announcement of record-breaking traffic

Future has laid off at least three writers from GamesRadar+ just a month after touting the site's record-breaking traffic growth.

"Spurious rumors of my position (regarding Vanquish) changing are false," wrote the site's former US editor-in-chief Ludwig Kietzmann on Twitter. "It's my @gamesradar role that was eliminated."

Editor Maxwell McGee and associate editor Ashely Reed also confirmed on Twitter that they are no longer with the site. In his own post, McGee indicated that he would be leaving the gaming media entirely. The GamesRadar+-managed Twitter staff list now includes just 13 employees.

Last month, GamesRadar+ announced that it posted record traffic during the holidays, with December unique users up 29 percent year-over-year to 11.3 million. That broke the previous monthly record of 9.8 million unique users, which had only been set the month before.

The site recently underwent a change in management, as Future brought on Daniel Dawkins as its new global editor-in-chief earlier this month. As of this writing, Future had not returned a request for comment.

If you have jobs news to share or a new hire you want to shout about, please contact us on newhires@gamesindustry.biz

From GamesIndustry.biz Recommendations by Taboola

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now