Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Akili raises $30.5m for medical treatment games

By Rachel Weber

Akili raises $30.5m for medical treatment games

Fri 22 Jan 2016 11:34pm GMT / 6:34pm EST / 3:34pm PST

Games used to treat autism spectrum disorder, ADHD and depression

Akili, a company that creates software-based medical treatments and monitors that function as video games, has just announced $30.5 million in new equity investments.

"The need for safe and effective treatment of cognitive disorders, including ADHD and autism, continues to grow, and new modalities are needed for millions of patients. Particularly in pediatric populations, we see a significant demand for non-pharmacological options," said CEO Eddie Martucci.

"We're excited that, with the support of our new and existing investors, we can continue to advance our adaptive software platform towards clinical validation and commercialization as a fundamentally new type of mainstream medicine."

Investors included JAZZ Venture Partners, Canepa Advanced Healthcare Fund and PureTech Health.

"We're seeing the emergence of an entirely new category of non-pharmacological therapies, and Akili is leading the charge. We love their ability to target some of the most under-served patient populations and disrupt massive markets at the same time," added John Spinale, former SVP of Social Games at Disney, and Partner at JAZZ Venture Partners.

From Recommendations by Taboola

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now