Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Twitch enables broadcasting of mobile games

Twitch enables broadcasting of mobile games

Wed 05 Mar 2014 4:04pm GMT / 11:04am EST / 8:04am PST
Mobile

Streaming platform releases mobile SDK, letting devs incorporate video sharing into their smartphone and tablet titles

Twitch has made some noise about its "broadcast anywhere" aspirations, and today the company took a significant step toward realizing them. The company today announced the Twitch mobile software development kit, a tool to let smartphone and tablet developers incorporate Twitch live broadcasting functionality into their games.

The mobile functionality of Twitch looks to be more in line with its PC counterpart than the service on the PlayStation 4 or Xbox One. The mobile SDK will let developers support the capture, broadcast, and archiving of gameplay video and audio. It will also allow video capture from front-facing cameras, as well as audio capture from a microphone to capture player commentary.

Currently, Twitch streaming on PS4 does not support archiving of streams, while Twitch livestreaming of Xbox One gameplay is expected to go live next week.

1 Comment

Andrew Watson
Programmer

92 200 2.2
But will the video quality be better than something my toaster could produce?

Posted:6 months ago

#1

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now