Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Twitch broadcasting comes to Xbox One

Twitch broadcasting comes to Xbox One

Tue 25 Feb 2014 1:59pm GMT / 8:59am EST / 5:59am PST
HardwareMedia

Video service arrives on March 11

A new Twitch app for Xbox One will launch on March 11, giving its gamers access to the Twitch broadcasting already enjoyed by PlayStation 4 gamers.

"With Twitch streaming confirmed for release on Xbox One, a huge number of console owners are about to be introduced to game broadcasting and the Twitch community," said Matthew DiPietro, VP of marketing.

"More than half the households in the US have a console, and those that do have them own an average of two. This puts Twitch in a staggering number of living rooms. The Twitch experience on Xbox One is easily the most feature-complete of our console integrations, and will hopefully turn on legions of gamers to the Twitch phenomenon."

The service arrives on the same day as Xbox One's flagship release Titanfall, and will require a Xbox Live Gold subscription in order to stream. The updated app will bring Chat, Following, and Notifications and the ability to watch live gameplay from any Twitch source.

"Only Xbox One offers the most complete Twitch experience, with access to any live broadcast and the full Twitch catalog," added Yusuf Mehdi, corporate VP of marketing at Xbox.

"We've designed Xbox One to be the best place to play with features and unparalleled partnerships that deliver epic moments for gamers."

The service has already proved successful on PS4, with 20 per cent of Twitch broadcasts between December 23 and January 3 made by PS4 gamers.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now