Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

U4iA Games closing today

U4iA Games closing today

Wed 15 Jan 2014 9:11am GMT / 4:11am EST / 1:11am PST
Development

Dusty Welch's Offensive Combat studio is no more

U4iA Games, the studio headed up by Dusty Welch and Chris Archer, is shutting down operations today.

"It is with a heavy heart that we write this, but tomorrow, January 15, 2014, will be the last day of operations for U4iA Games," announced the developer today.

"Our sincere apologies to all of our fantastic, supportive fans over these last few years - we wish we could have done better for you. Thank you very much for your support and we hope to see you again on the other side."

From the look of tweets from the company's former creative and social director Jeremy Dunham, the news was unexpected by the majority of the studio's 26 staff.

The studio's only title, Offensive Combat, launched in 2012 for browser and mobile. The studio itself was formed in 2011 by Welch and Archer, both Activision veterans. Welch was instrumental in the release of the first Call Of Duty title, and had hoped to repeat that success with Offensive Combat.

"I think you look at my track record of knocking off the established players and you can imagine that my goal for U4iA is to once again dethrone the established players, across the spectrum, across the space and allow gamers to again unite and experience the best consumer proposition that's available, and usher in a new genre experience," he told GamesIndustry International in November 2011.

"That's what U4iA is going to provide."

GamesIndustry International has contacted Welch for comment on the studio's closure.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now