Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

TGS attendance breaks records

TGS attendance breaks records

Tue 24 Sep 2013 7:54am GMT / 3:54am EDT / 12:54am PDT
Events

Next year's event will start on September 18

According to a statement from the Computer Entertainment Supplier's Association this year's Tokyo Game Show attracted 270,197 people across its four day run.

The statement, translated by Gematsu, revealed that 52,345 visitors attended on the business days. The highest number of people attended on the final day of the show, with 115,444 cramming the venue on Sunday.

Last year 223,753 people attended the show.

The Computer Entertainment Supplier's Association also announced that the 2014 show would take place September 18 to 21 at the Makuhari Messe.

2 Comments

Christian Keichel
Journalist

682 925 1.4
Despite all the doom and gloom talk about the TGS in western media, even the business days saw a (small) increase in visitors (2012: 51895). This shows the japanese gaming industry isn't dying, it's only more seperated from the rest of the world, then before. But maybe Japan is - with it's whole shift to mobile gaming on dedicated handhelds and phones instead of stationary consoles - just ahead of the west. Wouldn't be the first time.

Posted:A year ago

#1

Simon Weisgerber
Game Localization Consultant

22 8 0.4
Er, to everybody who saw the empty halls on Thu and Fri, this comes as a surprise. Going to TGS for 9 consecutive years now, and this year's felt the 'emptiest'. I would suggest taking those numbers with a grain of salt...

Posted:A year ago

#2

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now