Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Stainless secures $3.5m for next-gen Carmageddon: Reincarnation

Stainless secures $3.5m for next-gen Carmageddon: Reincarnation

Wed 20 Mar 2013 11:00am GMT / 7:00am EDT / 4:00am PDT
BusinessDevelopment

Investment from Bullfrog founder enables developer to build on current PC project

Stainless Games has secured a further $3.5 million for the development of Carmageddon: Reincarnation for next generation platforms.

The cash injection comes from Les Edgar, founder of Bullfrog games, former VP of Electronic Arts' European studios and shareholder in Stainless Games.

The $3.5 million boosts a company that raised over $625,000 for the PC version of the game through Kickstarter last year.

"We are delighted to have fully funded Carmageddon: Reincarnation without having to go outside of the collective of our own company, shareholders and fans," said Patrick Buckland, CEO of Stainless Games.

"It allows us to maintain a true independence and creative control whilst not having to compromise quality or content by budgetary constraints. For an independent, privately owned company to achieve this, is a testament to our strength and to the loyalty of our fans."

Stainless released a version of the original Carmageddon last year on iOS with an Android build due soon.

"I have always had a great belief in Stainless, and I really admire their continued success as one of the leading indie dev studios," added Les Edgar.

"The Carmageddon name is one we all want to see rise again, and I know that in the hands of its original creators, we're bound to get the best out of the brand."

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now