Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Ouya will have annual releases

Ouya will have annual releases

Thu 07 Feb 2013 10:25pm GMT / 5:25pm EST / 2:25pm PST
Hardware

Ouya's update schedule will mirror mobile devices

Despite being a console, the Ouya will not share the multi-year update schedule of classic consoles. At DICE 2013, Ouya CEO Julie Uhrman said that the console would see annual hardware updates like smartphones and tablets.

"As it relates to iterating the console and refreshes, our strategy is very much similar to the mobile strategy. There will be a new Ouya every year," Uhrman told Joystiq. "There will be an Ouya 2 and an Ouya 3. We'll take advantage of faster, better processors, take advantage of prices falling. So if we can get more than 8GB of Flash in our box, we will. And in so doing, make sure that all games are backwards compatible."

The Ouya will be launching with Nvidia's Tegra 3 processor, but Nvidia announced the Tegra 4 at CES 2013. Despite the Ouya being "old" hardware, Uhrman said that it would be the most powerful Tegra 3 device out there.

"We're launching on the Tegra 3. It's a quad-core A9 chip. Because it's not a mobile device, we don't have to balance power for battery life. So when all four quads are running, it's 1.6GHz. It's gonna be the best Tegra 3 device on the market," added Uhrman.

1 Comment

Adam Campbell Associate Producer, Miniclip Ltd

1,200 1,017 0.8
Good news in my opinion.

Old games and software can get a nice performance boost every year and new stuff can take advantage of the features.

Posted:A year ago

#1

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now