Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Acony shuts as SOE cancels Bullet Run

Acony shuts as SOE cancels Bullet Run

Tue 05 Feb 2013 1:50pm GMT / 8:50am EST / 5:50am PST
OnlineDevelopment

"Commercial realities have unfortunately made continued support for it unsustainable"

Acony Games

Acony was founded in Spring 2004. ACONY is a financially independent development studio for next generation...

aconygames.com

SOE free-to-play title Bullet Run is shutting down just six months after launch, and developer Acony is closing its doors too.

"Acony regrets to announce that we are no longer able to support development of Bullet Run and that the studio will close. While we remain very proud of the game we created and the enjoyment that it gave a lot people, commercial realities have unfortunately made continued support for it unsustainable," said the company on its website.

"We hope that the loyal community of people who played the game had as much fun playing the game as we had making it, and we would like to offer heartfelt thanks to everyone who has supported us over the last few years."

When contacted by GamesIndustry International, founding partner André Herbst would only add "I think everything is explained in our Statement on our Website. There's nothing left to say on our end."

Bullet Run, an multiplayer shooter, will shut down on March 8, with membership billing ceasing on February.

"All Station account information will stay with SOE. Acony will retain the game code but at this time there is no plan to relaunch the game" said SOE.

Acony Games was founded on 2004 in Germany. It's only other title was Parabellum.

1 Comment

Christopher Bowen
Editor in Chief

402 526 1.3
That's OK. I'm sure SOE is going to fully reimburse the sucke-- I mean, players who faithfully invested in this game.

Posted:A year ago

#1

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now