Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

PlayStation All-Stars developer cuts staff

PlayStation All-Stars developer cuts staff

Sat 26 Jan 2013 1:01am GMT / 8:01pm EST / 5:01pm PST
People

Layoffs reported at Superbot Entertainment

Sony Computer Entertainment America has confirmed a series of layoffs at PlayStation All-Stars Battle Royale developer Superbot Entertainment today. News of the cuts began earlier today when Insomniac Games designer Mike Birkhead tweeted that "around 20" employees had been let go.

"SCEA can confirm that SuperBot Entertainment did make a reduction in their workforce today. The studio and SCEA remain committed to supporting PlayStation All-Stars Battle Royale post launch, including developing the title's forthcoming DLC releases in the coming months," said SCEA in a statement.

Sales of PlayStation All-Stars Battle Royale have been less than impressive, though a Sony representative told IGN that sales numbers were "right on target with expectations".

SCEA did not confirm the number of employees affected by the layoffs. GamesIndustry International hopes those former studio members find new employment soon.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now