Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Valve working on new Source engine

Valve working on new Source engine

Mon 12 Nov 2012 8:07pm GMT / 3:07pm EST / 12:07pm PST
Developer Tools

Newell confirms Valve is kicking out a new game engine

Valve president Gabe Newell has confirmed that the studio is working on a brand-new Source engine. Members of internet imageboard 4Chan visited Newell at the studio to drop off a present for his 50th birthday and filmed the entire affair. They also asked Newell a few questions about what the studio's currently working on.

“We've been working on Valve's new engine stuff for a while, we're probably just waiting for a game to roll it out with,” said Newell in an exchange at the six-minute mark in the video.

Newell also replied “yes” when asked if engine was entirely new.

This is the second mention of a follow-up to the Source engine. The first was a few lines of code found by the team at ValveTime.net, eluding to a “next-gen” Source 2 engine.

[Image via GeekyGadgets]

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now