Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

AbleGamers Foundation to open permanent arcade

AbleGamers Foundation to open permanent arcade

Wed 03 Oct 2012 9:02am GMT / 5:02am EDT / 2:02am PDT

The charity's first "Accessibility Arcade" for disabled gamers will open on October 10

The AbleGamers Foundation will open its first permanent arcade for gamers with disabilities in Washington D.C. on October 10.

The "Accessibility Arcade" concept has been tested with temporary installations in the past, but a space at the Washington public library's main MLK branch will give it a permanent home.

"Game accessibility is not an idea, it's a movement," said Mark Barlet, president of the AbleGamers Foundation. "Together, we can enrich the lives of those with disabilities by the joy and social fun of gaming to anyone who wants to join in."

"We're looking forward to welcoming new and experienced gamers with disabilities of all ages to the library for a unique experience," said Venetia Demson, chief of the library's adaptive services division. "When properly used, video games can be an important learning tool for literacy, spatial reasoning and curriculum support as well as a wonderful social experience."

1 Comment

Paul Johnson Managing Director / Lead code monkey, Rubicon Development

925 1,560 1.7
This is good news. Unlike that other thing discussed here recently, this section of society actually needs a little help to help themselves and I'm glad to see they're getting it.

Posted:2 years ago

#1

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now