Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

More riots at Foxconn factory

More riots at Foxconn factory

Mon 24 Sep 2012 7:47am GMT / 3:47am EDT / 12:47am PDT
BusinessHardware

2000 workers involved in latest incident at electronics manufacturer

One of Foxconn's largest factories in China was closed yesterday as police moved in to break up a riot involving 2000 workers.

The company, which employs over 1.1 million people in China and works for electronics giants such as Apple, Nintendo and Microsoft, has been under increasing pressure to improve worker conditions in the region following suicides and allegations of poor working conditions.

According to the BBC, 40 people have been hurt during the disturbance in Taiyuan, central China, which follows rioting in June at the company's Chengdu plant.

According to the NY Times a strike took place at the site in March, with the China Labor Bulletin suggesting workers are becoming increasingly aware of their rights and encouraged to stand up for injustice.

3 Comments

Meelad Sadat
[a]list daily editorial director

51 30 0.6
They forced them to wear that shirt. But they couldn't force them to smile.

Posted:A year ago

#1

Greg Wilcox
Creator, Destroy All Fanboys!

2,156 1,076 0.5
Of course, walk into an Apple store and mention this and they'd probably say that it wasn't a "riot" - it was a really big employee party celebrating the iPhone 5 launch that got a little out of hand.

@Meelad: I think they have to pay them more to smile and the factory probably already docked that pay for printing those shirts, so they wouldn't smile anyway if they were given that extra cash.

Posted:A year ago

#2

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now