Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Sony downplays lack of 3D at E3, Gamescom

Sony downplays lack of 3D at E3, Gamescom

Fri 17 Aug 2012 6:21pm GMT / 2:21pm EDT / 11:21am PDT
Hardware

Jim Ryan indicates they don't have to talk about it anymore

Sony Computer Entertainment

Sony Computer Entertainment is a Japanese videogame company specialising in a variety of areas in the...

playstation.com

While Sony couldn't talk enough about the inclusion of 3D in it's various games a couple of years ago, announcements relating to 3D were absent from their media presentations during both E3 and Gamescom. According to Jim Ryan, CEO of PlayStation Europe, people shouldn't put too much significance into the recent lack of mention relating to 3D.

"I wouldn't read too much into its omission," said Ryan to CVG.

"We spoke about it at E3 two years ago and everyone put their glasses on for the first time, and the next year we did the same and everyone did it again. Y'know, there comes a time when you don't need to talk about it any more," the executive added. "Don't read into the fact too much that we haven't announced anything about 3D."

Stereoscopic 3D saw a resurgence mostly due to the popularity of the movie Avatar and its successful use of 3D cinematography. Despite a push by television manufacturers (including Sony) for new 3D enabled televisions, doubts have been raised about its viability in the home format for movies or video games.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now