Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

South Korea's "Shutdown Law" faces legal challenges

South Korea's "Shutdown Law" faces legal challenges

Fri 29 Jun 2012 8:51pm GMT / 4:51pm EDT / 1:51pm PDT
OnlineLegal

NCsoft and others call Korean shutdown law unconstitutional

South Korea's infamous Shutdown Law has had its legality called into question by citizens and game companies. The law prevents players under the age of sixteen from playing games during an allotted six hour block at night. The law was meant to encourage studying during that time.

Two lawsuits have been filed against the law. The first comes from a Korean organization representing parents and children, who say the law undermines parental rights to educate their children. The second lawsuit was filed by online game publishers like NCsoft, Neowiz, and Nexon, who argue the law itself is illegal.

Both lawsuits were filed last fall and arguments are currently being heard. Korea's Ministry of Gender Equality and Family previously called the law the bare minimum for protecting teenagers.

[Via ThisIsGames & Kotaku]

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now