Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Retail

Max Payne 3 to top 4 million sold says analyst

Max Payne 3 to top 4 million sold says analyst

Tue 22 May 2012 8:13pm GMT / 4:13pm EDT / 1:13pm PDT
Retail

Rockstar's ambitious sequel to Max Payne franchise should post solid lifetime sales

According to a new report from analyst firm Sterne Agee, the lifetime sales for Max Payne 3 can expect to top out at around 4 million units. The game, which has been a hit both with fans and critics alike, is Rockstar's latest in a franchise that has swept gaming, comics and even the silver screen.

This report, which falls in line with analyst appraisals for Take-Two's upcoming Q4 earnings report, says that Max Payne 3 has helped end a year that has been down for the company. Regardless of an assumed 18 percent year-over-year drop, Agee remains confident that 2013 will perhaps be the biggest for the company, thanks in no small part to Grand Theft Auto V.

Max Payne 3 is the latest title in a series that has not seen a game since 2003's Max Payne 2: The Fall of Max Payne. The game shipped for Xbox 360 and PS3. A PC version of the game is due out on June 1.

[via GameSpot]

3 Comments

Andrew Goodchild Studying development, Train2Game

1,255 421 0.3
Well it sold 3 million in one week, and the pc version isn't out, that's maybe a safe bet.

Posted:2 years ago

#1

David Radd Senior Editor, IndustryGamers

359 78 0.2
It shipped 3 million copies to retail, though I've no doubt the sales mark will be reached in short order.

Posted:2 years ago

#2

Andrew Goodchild Studying development, Train2Game

1,255 421 0.3
Good point well made. Still, it seems a safe bet.

Posted:2 years ago

#3

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now