Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Kinect for Windows SDK update adds skeletal tracking

Kinect for Windows SDK update adds skeletal tracking

Mon 21 May 2012 10:17pm GMT / 6:17pm EDT / 3:17pm PDT
Developer Tools

Version 1.5 also adds a new Kinect Studio toolkit for developers

Microsoft has continued to improve software for its Kinect peripheral, with the newest Kinect for Windows Software Development Kit update adding new skeletal tracking and the Kinect Studio developer tool.

The software adds support for a ten-joint skeletal tracking system, which accurately tracks the head, neck, and arms of seated individuals in near and default mode. The mode ignores legs and hips as many PC users will be sitting behind a desk when using their Kinect for Windows. The SDK also improves overall skeletal tracking performance and face-tracking capabilities.

The Kinect Studio developer tool allows users to record and playback Kinect data for the testing of applications.

The SDK also introduces more language support for speech recognition, including English/Great Britain, English/Ireland, English/Australia, English/New Zealand, English/Canada, French/France, French/Canada, Italian/Italy, Japanese/Japan, Spanish/Spain and Spanish/Mexico.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now