Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Retail

Dixons reports 3% YoY fall in sales

Dixons reports 3% YoY fall in sales

Fri 11 May 2012 3:10pm GMT / 11:10am EDT / 8:10am PDT
RetailFinancial

But UK and Ireland shows 8 per cent rise in final quarter

Dixons Retail, parent company of Currys, PC World and Dixons, showed a 3 per cent year on year drop in sales for the financial year ending April 28.

Sales for Q4 for the group actually managed a 5 per cent rise compared with last year, with the UK and Ireland market showing an 8 per cent improvement, while the company expected underlying profit before tax to be around 65 million to 70 million.

"Our overall Group performance across the year has been slightly better than we anticipated," said chief executive Sebastian James.

"We are confident that we will deliver a multi-channel business that is sustainable in a world where consumer shopping behaviours are constantly evolving."

The report also revealed that online sales made up 18 per cent of the groups sales.

"The consumer environment remains uncertain in many of our markets and we continue to plan cautiously and manage costs aggressively. Overall, though, our business is in a strong position for the year ahead."

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now