Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Gaikai partners with Wikipad tablet

Gaikai partners with Wikipad tablet

Wed 02 May 2012 1:40pm GMT / 9:40am EDT / 6:40am PDT
Hardware

Glasses free 3D iPad rival to come with detachable controller

Cloud gaming company Gaikai has signed a deal with tablet manufacturer Wikipad to integrate its streaming service into the device.

The Wikipad is an Android tablet that offers glasses free 3D, a 1080p touchscreen and, in a nod to more hardcore gamers, a detachable controller.

"The Wikipad is one of the most exciting devices for gaming to date," said Robert Stevenson, Gaikai's EVP of business development and strategic partnerships.

"The tablet was designed with the needs of gamers in mind, enhancing the mobile gaming experience with a set of controls on par with today's consoles and PC gamepads, enabling gameplay mechanics that have been previously unavailable with just touchscreen controls."

The Wikipad was demoed to press at this year's CES, and while there's no official release date just yet, the manufacturers were originally aiming for May . It's expected to have a retail price of $200, with the detachable controller costing a further $50.

"We chose to partner with Gaikai's game streaming service for its leading performance, graphics, and content," added Wikipad's Fraser Townley.

"It is the leading game streaming solution with the best library of AAA games and we are thrilled to offer these high quality experiences to our users where Gaikai's network is deployed."

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now