Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Facebook offers incentive for first time buyers in games

Facebook offers incentive for first time buyers in games

Fri 23 Mar 2012 6:34pm GMT / 2:34pm EDT / 11:34am PDT
Business

You can get $5 worth of Facebook Credits for the price of $1 if you have never bought any credits before

Facebook has announced a promotion whereby users who have never bought Facebook credits can make a one-time purchase of $5 worth of credits for $1. Only about five percent of gamers on Facebook have ever bought anything using Facebook Credits up until now.

Facebook developers will be able to implement a new widget wherein users who haven't previously paid for virtual goods will see in-game icons promoting the offer.

"New Payer Promotions are offers that encourage game players to make a first-time purchase using their credit card or PayPal account," writes Facebook Engineer Pratap Pv. "These offers are sponsored by Facebook, and early data shows that about 20% of the users who make that first-time purchase come back to spend more within a month."

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now