Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Retail

Final Fantasy XIII-2 can't topple Modern Warfare 3

Final Fantasy XIII-2 can't topple Modern Warfare 3

Fri 09 Mar 2012 1:30am GMT / 8:30pm EST / 5:30pm PST
BusinessRetail

Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning also did well, outselling Soul Calibur V and Twisted Metal in February US sales

The NPD Group has released the list of the top selling titles for February 2012 in the U.S. and Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 3 is still the top selling game. Just Dance 3, NBA 2K12 and Battlefield 3 also continued to be consistent sellers.

Final Fantasy XIII-2 managed to sell well despite a mixed reception from the press and Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning debuted at number four, easily making it the top selling new IP for the month. With Soul Calibur V in at seven and Twisted Metal at nine, it was a fairly solid month for new releases, even if catalog title sales declined.

1

2 Comments

Jack Lee

60 6 0.1
Forgive my ignorance, please, but does the NPD release its actual numbers if they have them (instead of just rankings)? Is that part of their paid syndicated service? I know that I'm much more interested in how many copies of FFXIII-2 sold, rather than just knowing it was the best-selling newly released game.

Posted:2 years ago

#1

Jim Webb
Executive Editor/Community Director

2,246 2,233 1.0
Jack, they used to release actual figures for the entire top 10 (or it was leaked by subscribers) but they've changed policy recently to only provide a ranking with very few actual figures. Only subscribers can get full figures now.

And they don't sell their subscriptions to the media...I've already tried. Not that I had enough money their insane subscription rates anyway.

Posted:2 years ago

#2

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now