Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Kinect for Windows commercial license launches

Thu 02 Feb 2012 11:30am GMT / 6:30am EST / 3:30am PST
Developer ToolsHardware

Retail price set at $249, Toyota and Mattel already working on software

Kinect for Windows and its commercial SDK and runtime has now launched in 12 countries, giving companies the chance to put the technology to use.

"Kinect has had an amazing first year, selling over 18m sensors," said Steve Clayton on Microsoft's official Technet blog.

"Now it's game on for businesses to show us what they can do with this technology - once they have Kinect for Windows hardware and have installed the SDK, they're free to innovate away. Just how we like it."

The recommended retail price for the unit itself is $249, with a discounted $149 price available to education bodies later in the year. The SDK is available free of charge.

"Companies such as United Health Group, American Express, Mattel, Telefonica, and Toyota that already are developing applications with Kinect for Windows - and more than 300 companies from over 25 countries are busy dreaming, inventing and building."

1 Comment

Im building some crazy things with the SDK for months already, but I was using the old Kinect, for Xbox360.

Posted:2 years ago

#1

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now