Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Finance

Flaregames raises €6m in investment round

Thu 02 Feb 2012 10:16am GMT / 5:16am EST / 2:16am PST
FinanceDevelopment

Accel leads funding for mobile free-to-play specialist

Flaregames

flaregames creates seriously awesome mobile games. Games are our passion, gaming is our lifestyle.

flaregames.com

Flaregames, the mobile development studio founded by ex-Gameforge head Klaas Kersting, has raised €6 million in venture capital funding from Accel Partners.

The company recently underwent a refocusing to concentrate on free-to-play mobile titles, rather than the augmented reality games which it had worked on previously. Venturebeat reports that the company hopes to launch five titles by the end of Q2, 2012.

"Our first focus is on getting fun, high-quality games to market, and reaching the mass-market as well as mid-core gamers with our line-up this year," said Kersting in a statement on the funding success.

"Our investors see the opportunity for mobile game companies to grow fast and the team's extensive knowledge of the free-to-play gaming market is an asset that will enable us to create new mobile games that are both fun and commercially successful."

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now