Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Dare to be Digital 2012 applications open

Mon 23 Jan 2012 2:30pm GMT / 9:30am EST / 6:30am PST
Education

First stage of acclaimed game design competition goes live for students

Game design competition Dare to be Digital opens for submissions today, offering students the chance to win industry acclaim and their very own BAFTA.

Applications can be made via the official website, with the University of Abertay Dundee whittling the shortlist down to 15 teams charged with creating a working game prototype. These are shown to the public in August and three are nominated for the BAFTA Ones to Watch award.

"Taking part in Dare to be Digital is a life-changing opportunity for many young game developers, giving them incredible experience and access to leading industry experts from companies like Rockstar and Sony," commented Elaine Russell, project manager of Dare to be Digital.

"And the experience of seeing thousands of people play your game at the Dare ProtoPlay games festival at the end of the competition can be life-changing for students looking to enter the games industry.

"With the many innovative release channels available in the market, we are particularly keen to see how the students can use Dare to be Digital as a platform to launch commercially in the gaming market."

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now