Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Sony cuts price of PlayStation tablet

Tue 03 Jan 2012 5:44pm GMT / 12:44pm EST / 9:44am PST
Hardware

Tablet S reduced by $100 three months after release

Sony has cut the price of its PlayStation branded Tablet S by $100 in the US.

The move comes only three months after the hardware launched, with the 32GB model now selling for $500 instead of $600, and the 16GB SKU down from $500 to $400.

The Android 3.0 powered device features a 9.4 inch touch screen and Nvidia Tegra 2 graphics chip. It is able to download and play games from the PlayStation Store with support from the PlayStation Suite SDK, also used for PlayStation Vita, Xperia Play and other Android devices.

2 Comments

robert troughton UK General Manager, Epic Games

222 96 0.4
Isn't this likely just down to that Tegra 3 powered tablets are launching soon..? I assume that Sony would also be looking to release with Tegra 3 at some point?

Posted:2 years ago

#1

Tom Keresztes Programmer

685 340 0.5
@Robert,

Tegra3 for tables wont be launching before Q4 2012. Its netbook version is available in an Asus netbook.

Posted:2 years ago

#2

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now