Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Southeast Asian online market to hit $1bn by 2015

Tue 22 Nov 2011 9:14am GMT / 4:14am EST / 1:14am PST
Emerging MarketsOnline

2011 revenues will top $474 million, says research firm

The Southeast Asian online games market is set to generate revenues of $1 billion by 2015, according to research group Niko Partners.

That's double the $474 million expected revenues of 2011, from a region that includes Indonesia, Malaysia, the Philippines, Singapore, Thailand and Vietnam.

"We critically analysed the results of our data collection in these six markets and discovered that Indonesia is a compelling market because of the fascination with Facebook games, Vietnam is the biggest market in the region based on revenue, and Thailand has the highest average revenue per paid user," said Lisa Cosmas Hanson, managing partner of Niko Partners.

"Beyond the known markets of China, Korea and Japan, in Asia these six Southeast Asian countries are bright rising stars."

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now