Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Dundee and Abertay join forces to welcome MIT Pune delegates

Thu 13 Oct 2011 8:39am GMT / 4:39am EDT / 1:39am PDT
Education

Maharashtra Academy of Engineering Education and Research visiting Scottish universities to discuss further collaboration

Today Dundee University and Abertay University will jointly welcome deans from Maharashtra Academy of Engineering Education and Research, or MIT Pune.

"We are delighted to welcome these distinguished visitors to the City of Dundee," said Nicholas Terry, Abertay's acting principle.

"Overseas partnerships and commercial links, especially with India, have been a key strength of the city for centuries, and we are proud to be able to take those forward into new areas of higher education and academic exchange."

Professor Anant Chakradeo, dean of design habitat, and Dr Milind Pande, project director in MIT Pune's School of Telecom Management, will visit both Abertay's Centre for Excellence in Computer Games Education and Dundee's design, animation and business departments.

"We have complementary strengths and shared interests in a range of areas," said Profesor Pete Downes, principal of Dundee University.

"Our agreements with MIT Pune lay the foundation for a productive, long-term partnership that benefits both Scotland and India."

Dundee already has a number of joint programmes in progress with MIT Pune.

Both Scottish universities are currently in talks over a proposed merger.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now