Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Game Closure completes seed funding round

Thu 01 Sep 2011 2:50pm GMT / 10:50am EDT / 7:50am PDT
Developer ToolsBusiness

HTML5 development environment attracts proven investors

Mobile and social start-up Game Closure has completed its seed funding round, TechCrunch reports.

The amount raised has not been released, but General Catalyst Partners, Greylock Partners, Benchmark Capital and Charles River Ventures were among the investors.

Also contributing funding were Yuri Milner, who previously invested in both Facebook, Zynga and Groupon, and Joi Ito, who sits on the board at DeNA and is the CEO of Creative Commons.

Game Closure's business is built on a HTML5-based development environment and SDK that allows games to be played across multiple platforms - primarily Android, iOS and Facebook - with no drop in performance.

Game Closure co-founder and CEO Michael Carter claims that the company has attracted interest from studios close to Facebook's HTML5 platform Project Spartan, which is expected to be unveiled at F8 next month.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now